FASHION . TECHNOLOGY . DESIGN

They say to do what you love the most (job-wise), right? Because if you love it enough, it won’t feel like a job. Well, they’re the three main things that I love the most and they’re the three main parts of my dream job.

Anyway, I was creating my bucket list the other day, mainly because I was bored out of my mind, but also because my thoughts and goals were all over the place. Then my future job came to mind and I’m absolutely clueless when it comes to this subject because I only change my mind about a million times a day. So instead of thinking about a job overall, I instead listed all the things that I find the most interesting and came to the conclusion of fashion, technology and design.

And here’s why…

I’ve always been into fashion. I don’t know why, I guess it’s just something that I look forward to a lot. If you ever see me around, my clothes are only ever casual because I really don’t like to stand out right now. In the future, yes, but for now I just want to blend in. Unless it’s a formal occasion. If it’s formal then I’ll go all out with my whole outfit; head to toe.

Designing is literally my number one passion. It doesn’t matter whether it’s food, coding, graphic design, clothes, interiors, The Sims expansion pack, Lego and so on; I love them all (though I haven’t played with the Lego in years). Like lately, I’ve started designing and creating my own clothes for me (and my family when they want something) to wear because I’ve gotten really picky about things such as sizes, patterns, MONEY, hem lines, feature placements, fabrics, etc. Plus, mum has piles and piles of old clothes that she no longer uses so I like to get creative with them because, as boring as it may sound, I find it so fun.

Then there’s the technology side; coding. This was pretty much the thing that I learnt to fall in love with. I resented it so much at first because, back in high school, they’d messed up my timetable for the new school year which meant that I had to choose between either IT or something that I thought was equally as boring (can’t remember what it was) but I had two friends in that class so I though, “Eh, why not.” But once I started seeing what you could do with a little bit of coding, I started getting more and more into it. Don’t get me wrong though, I still hated the assignments since I had to do what the teacher wanted in an assignment and only just passed because of it but before that, I just always thought that it was for hackers and computer “nerds” that had no life. That’s literally what I thought of it so thank you high school for stuffing up my grade 11 time table. I’m being serious. Thank you. I wouldn’t have known about all the perks of coding without you and because of it, I’m now studying at university for a Bachelor’s Degree in IT.

But with all this being said, I still don’t know exactly what job I actually want to pursue. I just know that I want to be able to combine my three interests of fashion, technology and design so that I can work with all three. There’s probably so many different pathways this can lead to and new jobs are being created everyday, especially ones to do with technology, so there’s bound to be something. You wouldn’t happen to have any ideas would you?

Talk to you next time. x

3 thoughts on “FASHION . TECHNOLOGY . DESIGN

  1. Primus Reviews- Games and Gains

    It’s so nice to meet somebody who actually can appreciate IT and design! :’) An IT degree is where to be, it’s good you didn’t go into pure Computer Science! I tried that out last year and lemme tell ya they do nothing but pile assignments and force you to think of a solution to every word problem!

    I’ll tell you now coding gets real boring after a while. Sure in the workplace you could be like a game programmer and see stuff move and animate (I was an intern), but there’s a ton of problem solving, math and logic involved, so be prepared for that! I’m not tryna scare you I’m just sharing what I experienced first hand the previous year!

    I say do whatever your heart’s leading you to, which by the looks of things you like digital, and fashion design. Well I’m sure you could be a graphic designer in the fashion industry! Even indirectly as part of their marketing teams you could make posters and stuff. Besides that there’s animation, 3-D modeling, video editing, creating and production (which connects more to the film industry) and physical fashion design!

    Whatever you decide to do just stick with it. Know that no matter what happens, or what you choose there will be tough times and good times. Be disciplined, patient and dedicated to whatever you choose as your career path and you’ll be successful!

    Remember: have a passion, share your passion- as in serve people to receive a return, and market yourself- prove to companies you can be a good worker. If you start a business then learn leadership and management skills first, work under somebody and also do the above!

    Good luck with your decisions and uni!

    Liked by 1 person

    • xishasecrets

      Oh, so you didn’t like game programming or animation so much when you were interning? I really do like problem solving and all that but all day long? I’m not so sure.

      Yeah, I’ve always had graphics design in the back of my head but apparently it’s an extremely competitive job to get into. I think I’m leaning more towards the physical design aspect but with a bit of technology added in somewhere. I’m not sure yet, still deciding.

      Haha, thank you so much for the advice! I seriously do appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

      • Primus Reviews- Games and Gains

        You’re welcome! Actually I love animation, but that’s separate from using scripting and a game engine. See you animate things one of two ways: 2d and 3d software- moving the rigs (body parts) manually plus Mokap (motion capture), or by code. The code has a lot a lot of physics, math and problem solving, so yeah not my forte!

        Graphic design actually isn’t that hard a field to get into as people make it and like I said you need to learn how to serve people and how to market yourself well. Just be consistent and dedicated to your career! Always keep your options open.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

